“Top ANP official quits, says party has lost way” |Myanmar Times

Chan Thar| 05 Dec 2017 | Myanmar Times

Following the resignation of Arakan National Party (ANP) Chairman Aye Maung, party secretariat member U Kyaw Zaw Oo has told the party he was resigning effective Monday, said ANP officials.

“His resignation letter was received this morning. He didn’t give it personally but through another person. The matter will be discussed at a party central committee meeting,” ANP secretariat member U Aung Kyaw Myat said on Monday.

U Kyaw Zaw Oo, a state Hluttaw MP from Sittwe Constituency No. 2 in Rakhine State, was elected to the party central committee and secretariat at an ANP assembly in Thandwe township in 2014.

The Myanmar Times was unable to contact U Kyaw Zaw Oo to ask about the resignation letter.

In the 2015 general elections, he left the ANP and was elected to the state Hluttaw as an independent candidate for Sittwe township. He then returned to ANP and continued his responsibilities on its central committee and secretariat.

His resignation letter complained that the party is not putting Rakhine nationals’ interests first, which is annoying to those in party who want to do their jobs well.

On November 27, U Aye Maung submitted his resignation as chair and party member. In his resignation letter dated November 28, he complained that there is no unity in the party and he has too many responsibilities because of this. In the first week of January, 30 central committee members and more than 100 township committee members will meet, U Khaing Pyi Soe, deputy ANP chair, said on Monday.

“Party members still want Dr. Aye Maung as chair. We will submit their wishes at the meeting,” said party member Daw Khin Saw Wai, who is a Pyithu Hluttaw MP.

In 2015, the ANP won 12 Pyithu Hluttaw seats, 10 Amyotha Hluttaw seats and 22 state Hluttaw seats, totalling 45 seats. They won one Pyithu Hluttaw seat in the 2017 by-election. So far this year, one Pyithu Hluttaw MP, one Amyotha Hluttaw MP and four state Hluttaw MPs have resigned from the ANP, said party general secretary U Tun Aung Kyaw.

Link –


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s